Short answer: not according to the label, and the trial evidence leans the other way
Joint pain is not a listed adverse reaction of Zepbound. The words arthralgia, myalgia, musculoskeletal pain and back pain do not appear anywhere in the current US prescribing information, including in the adverse reaction table and the list of reactions reported in 5% or more of patients. That is not proof the drug can never do it, but it means joint pain was not reported often enough in the trials to reach the label. Meanwhile the strongest randomised evidence on a GLP-1 and joints found the opposite effect: in a 68 week trial of 407 people with obesity and knee osteoarthritis, semaglutide cut knee pain scores substantially more than placebo. So if your joints hurt on Zepbound, the medication is not the most likely explanation, and the rest of this page is about finding the one that is.
Pages answering this question tend to say "yes, possibly" and then quote a figure such as two to five percent of trial patients. We went looking for that figure in the source and could not find it. There is no musculoskeletal line in the Zepbound adverse reaction table to quote. What follows is what the label does say, what one good trial says, and a way to sort your own case.
What the Zepbound label actually lists
The prescribing information names the adverse reactions reported in at least 5% of treated patients. The complete list is: nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, dyspepsia, injection site reactions, fatigue, hypersensitivity reactions, eructation, hair loss, and gastroesophageal reflux disease.
Twelve items. No joint pain, no muscle pain, no back pain. The same is true of the Mounjaro label, which covers the identical molecule, and of the Wegovy and Ozempic labels for semaglutide.
What absence from a label does and does not mean
It means the event was not reported at a rate that met the reporting threshold in those trials, or was not reported more often than on placebo. It does not mean nobody on the drug ever gets it. Anything common in the general population, and joint pain in adults with obesity is very common, will occur in trial participants whether or not the drug causes it. That is precisely why the placebo group exists, and why an event has to clear it to earn a line on the label.
The trial that points the other way
The best randomised evidence here is not about tirzepatide, it is about semaglutide, and it is worth knowing because it tests the exact question.
STEP 9 (NCT05064735), published in the New England Journal of Medicine in October 2024, randomised 407 adults with obesity and moderate knee osteoarthritis to once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg or placebo for 68 weeks, both alongside diet and exercise counselling. Knee pain on the WOMAC pain score fell by 41.7 points on semaglutide against 27.5 points on placebo, a difference of 14.1 points that was statistically significant. Physical function improved more on the drug too, by 41.5 points against 26.7.
Both groups improved, which is what you would expect when everyone is losing weight and exercising. The point is the gap: the group on the GLP-1 improved considerably more. Two caveats worth stating plainly. This was semaglutide, not tirzepatide, so it does not transfer automatically. And it studied people who already had knee osteoarthritis, so it tells you about existing joint pain rather than about new joint pain appearing during treatment.
Four things that do explain new joint pain on Zepbound
Work down these rather than assuming the drug.
| Cause | What it looks like | Timing clue |
|---|---|---|
| Returning to activity | Aching in knees, hips or ankles after you started walking or training more. Often the real answer, because feeling better is the point of the treatment and people move more. | Tracks with what you did that week, not with dose day. |
| Loss of muscle alongside fat | General weakness and joints that feel less supported, especially knees and lower back. Weight loss of any kind takes some lean mass with it unless protein intake and resistance training push back. | Builds gradually over months, not around injections. |
| Dehydration or reduced intake | Diffuse aching, cramps, stiffness, often alongside the gastrointestinal effects that are on the label. Appetite suppression can quietly cut both fluids and protein. | Often worse in the days after a dose increase. |
| Something unrelated | Osteoarthritis, an old injury, inflammatory arthritis, gout. Weight loss does not pause other conditions, and starting a new medicine is simply when people start paying attention. | No relationship to dose or to injection day. |
A timing test you can run in four weeks
If joint pain really were an effect of the drug, it would have a signature: it would cluster in a predictable window after each injection, because tirzepatide reaches peak plasma concentration a median of 24 hours after the dose, with a range of 8 to 72 hours. A cause that has nothing to do with the medicine will not respect that window.
- For four weeks, record the day of each injection and the dose.
- Each day, record joint pain on a simple 0 to 10 scale and note which joints.
- Also record two things that confound it: roughly how much you walked or trained, and whether you drank and ate normally.
- At four weeks, line the pain scores up against days since injection.
If the worst days cluster one to three days after every dose, that is a pattern worth showing your prescriber. If they scatter across the week, or they track your activity instead, you have your answer and it is not the drug. Either way you now have four weeks of data instead of an impression, which is a far better thing to bring to an appointment.
This is exactly the kind of record Jabby is built to keep: symptoms logged against the dose and the day they followed, so the correlation is visible rather than remembered. The same approach works for any symptom you are trying to attribute, which is how we suggest reading the headache question as well.
When joint pain is not the thing to be tracking
A timing diary is for the ordinary aching that sends people to a search box. Stop and contact your prescriber or seek care instead if you have a hot, red, swollen joint, a fever alongside joint pain, a joint you cannot bear weight on, or pain that came on suddenly and severely. Those are not questions for a four week experiment. The label also asks you to report any adverse reaction you experience, and joint pain not appearing on it is a reason to report yours, not a reason to stay quiet about it.
Find out whether it tracks with your doses
Jabby logs symptoms against the dose and day they followed, so a pattern shows up as a pattern instead of a hunch.
Download Jabby, free on the App StoreFrequently asked questions
Is joint pain a known side effect of Zepbound?
No. Arthralgia, myalgia, musculoskeletal pain and back pain do not appear anywhere in the current US prescribing information for Zepbound, including in the adverse reaction table.
Why do so many pages say two to five percent of patients get joint pain?
We could not trace that figure to the label or to a named trial, and there is no musculoskeletal row in the Zepbound adverse reaction table it could have come from. Treat it as unsourced unless someone shows you where it is from.
Can rapid weight loss itself cause joint pain?
Losing weight reduces load on weight-bearing joints, which is why the knee osteoarthritis trial found improvement. What can work against you is losing lean mass at the same time, which is the argument for adequate protein and resistance training during treatment. Discuss specifics with your clinician or a dietitian.
Does the joint pain go away?
It depends entirely on what is causing it, which is the reason for the four week test above rather than a general answer.
Should I stop Zepbound because my joints hurt?
That is a decision for your prescriber, not for a web page. Do not change or stop a prescribed dose on your own.
Do GLP-1 medications help arthritis?
In one randomised trial, semaglutide reduced knee osteoarthritis pain more than placebo over 68 weeks in people with obesity. That is a single trial in a specific population with a specific drug, and it is not an approved use of either semaglutide or tirzepatide for arthritis.
Related reading
- Does Zepbound cause headaches?, another symptom people attribute to the drug, read against the placebo column
- Zepbound reviews, what patients, physicians and the trials each report
- Zepbound injection site reactions, the rates by dose and what the label counts
- Semaglutide side effects for the comparison molecule
- Tracking GLP-1 weight loss and the symptoms that come with it
Sources
- ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) US prescribing information, Eli Lilly and Company. Section 6.1 adverse reactions and the list of reactions reported in 5% or more of patients, section 12.3 pharmacokinetics.
- MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) US prescribing information, Eli Lilly and Company, checked for the same terms.
- Bliddal H, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Persons with Obesity and Knee Osteoarthritis. N Engl J Med 2024 Oct 31. PMID 39476339. Trial registration NCT05064735.
- WEGOVY (semaglutide) US prescribing information, Novo Nordisk, checked for musculoskeletal terms.
- ZEPBOUND label on DailyMed, US National Library of Medicine.
This page summarises published prescribing information and one randomised trial for general education. It is not medical advice, it contains no dosing guidance, and it cannot diagnose the cause of your joint pain. New, severe or worsening joint symptoms should be assessed by a clinician. Never start, stop or change a prescribed medicine on the basis of a web page.
Jabby is free on the App Store and keeps dose history and symptom logs in one record you can show your prescriber.